BloGTK installation on Ubuntu 10.04

Posted on 2010/11/07

10


I wanted to try BloGTK to write my WordPress blog posts, as suggested by the Apps for WordPress.com page.

I installed it on my Ubuntu 10.04 machine from the Software Center, then launched it from the Applications -> Internet menu, but it didn’t start. I could only see on the task bar that a window titled “Starting BloGTK” appears but nothing was displayed. I then tried to run it from the terminal, and this is what happened:

$ blogtk
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/blogtk", line 14, in <module>
    import gtkhtml2
ImportError: No module named gtkhtml2

It seems that a python module is missing: I then tried to install it manually, but these are the results:

$ sudo apt-get install python-gtkhtml2
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Package python-gtkhtml2 is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source
E: Package python-gtkhtml2 has no installation candidate

I then discovered that BloGTK has a PPA on Launchpad with a newer installation available, so I tried installing it from there:

$ sudo apt-get remove blogtk
$ sudo apt-add-repository ppa:jayreding/ppa
$ sudo apt-get update
$ sudo apt-get install blogtk

I then started the newly installed program (now called blogtk2) and it opened correctly.

BloGTK 2.0 on Ubuntu 10.04

BloGTK 2.0 on Ubuntu 10.04

Posted in: Internet