Paul Graham – What Doesn’t Seem Like Work?

Posted on 2015/01/17

1


Paul Graham suggests that, when we find a task that entertains us to the point that we are eager to do it, and when people around us doesn’t seem to approach that same task with the same enthusiasm, then we have found a clue. It’s a clue that points towards a direction that could very well be our professional career, and if we manage to catch those clues and makes sense of them early, they can guide our decision in choosing our school, applying for jobs and starting an enterprise.

Personally, I had the luck of having a PC in my house from the age of 7, and I discovered early that entering commands and asking the computer to do something felt pretty natural to me. My first steps in computer administration were in editing “AUTOEXEC.BAT” and “CONFIG.SYS” to free memory and make the games run. My first steps in programming were in QBasic, first when I patched the code to give me infinite lives in “NIBBLES.BAS“, and then creating my own games with PIXELPlus 256. Programming didn’t feel like working: it felt like playing; and it still does sometimes, even if the program is completely serious, even in a professional work environment, I find myself having fun just like when I was 7.

QBasic game GORILLA.BAS

QBasic game GORILLA.BAS

What Doesn’t Seem Like Work?.

Posted in: Working