I hate network-manager

Posted on 2009/05/03

2


But it’s not his fault, it’s my fault. I have some expectations, but then I realize that the version number 0.X means something…

Anyway, my problem is that after upgrading to Ubuntu Jaunty I wanted to manage my network connections using the default Ubuntu tools instead of the default Linux tools. After deleting most of the /etc/network/interfaces file, NetworkManager daemon refused to recognize my Ethernet connections. I then found out I should have put “managed=true” at the end of /etc/NetworkManager/nm-system-settings.conf file.

I connect to the Internet through an Ethernet modem, so I need to open a PPPoE connection each reboot. So I went to the Network Manager notification icon and added a new DSL connection. I try to connect and… great, it works! But why is there a mutually exclusive button to choose between eth0 and ppp0 connections? Does it mean that… yes, connecting to ppp0 disconnects eth0. If I want to surf, I can’t see my internal network and vice-versa.

Other than that, I had a setup to send a mail each time my ppp0 goes up, using a /etc/ppp/ip-up.local script. Well, that script isn’t executed, and after trying to put it in /etc/network/if-up.d/ with no success, I gave up.

I restored the previous configuration and “sudo apt-get remove network-manager”. When I will have time, I’ll submit a feature request. Waiting for 1.0…

add to del.icio.us :: Bookmark Post in Technorati :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook :: Bookmark on Google :: Add to Netscape :: Share on Yahoo :: Add this to Live

Posted in: Software